top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLily May

In Which I Am A Book Snob

Books. Tags. What more could one want in a post? :D


Today I've been tagged by my friend Emily @Rooted Scribbles for the Book Snob Tag. To be honest, I agree with Emily on a lot of these answers. You can find her post here.


adaptation snob~ do you always read the book before seeing the movie?

Not always, actually! But most of the time, yes. I do. Often I read a book, and then get excited when I realize that there's a movie version. Otherwise I don't tend to watch new movies that often. The times that I watch movies before reading the books, it's an accident: I'll watch the movie, and then love it so much that I'll go read the book. (See my last post for a review on A Long Way Home: there's a movie adaptation called Lion that I watched first. Case in point.)


format snob~ you can only choose one format in which to read books for the rest of your life. which do you choose: physical books, ebooks, or audiobooks?

This answer was easy. I don't do ebooks or audiobooks anyways because I hate reading things longer than an article on a screen, and I can't focus when an audiobook is on. Hands down, it's a physical book. I need to be able to feel the pages and be absorbed in it. Other forms simply take the joy out of it for me, at least most of the time.


genre snob~ you have to ditch one genre never to be read again in your life. which do you ditch?

And here again I shall copy Emily. I hate horror books. I don't need those visuals in my life and probably never will. I love deep books, and even sad ones...but books purely for horror just don't do it for me. I tend to be sensitive to books or movies that have graphic things in them and I'd rather just avoid the genre altogether.


uber genre snob~ you can only choose to read from one genre for the rest of your life. which do you choose?

I'd probably choose historical fiction for this one. I know so many good historical fiction books that I could live off of. This category also tends to include other categories with it (for example: The Story That Cannot Be Told could be counted as part fantasy, or Anne of Green Gables as a classic, while still being historical fiction). I read a ton of historical fiction, and will probably dive into trying to write it before too long. It's fascinating.


community snob~ which genre do you think receives the most snobbery from the bookish community?

I'll take this question to mean, "which genre is most laughed-at or talked badly upon by other readers?" Honestly, I'd say classics. They're old-fashioned, and the wording is something that many people just aren't used to. Because of increased difficulty, readers rarely wish to dive into this genre; and if they do, they often dislike it. Having been bred in classic literature since I could read, I've found a lot more worth in classics than I think that most people see, and I think they should get more hype than they do from the reading community.


snobbery recipient~ have you ever been snubbed for something that you have been reading, or for reading in general?

My answer here would probably be the same as above. People just don't get classics, and therefore don't understand my love of them. I'd also say that this question can work the other way around: my friends are sometimes shocked at my dislikes as well as my likes. For example, my classic literature friends are still hyperventilating from the time I told them I don't like Tolkien's Lord of the Rings. In my defense, I'm trying them again, because I still can't put my finger on what I don't like about the series, and it's bugging me.


Now I get to tag people? For being book snobs? Yay!

If anyone else would like to be tagged, please go do this and consider yourself tagged. These are just the people I happened to remember right now...the rest either slipped my mind, have already been tagged by someone, or I haven't yet explored their blog. :)


are you a book snob? do you agree on my thoughts about horror novels? do you enjoy audiobooks?


Toodeloo, friends!

~Lily May





52 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page