top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLily May

In Which I Share About Sponsorship

Today, my lovely sponsored child turns seven. I've thought about doing this post for a long time, and in honor of her birthday, I think this is the proper time. So here's a post about why I choose to sponsor, along with some pretty cute pictures of kids from Lalengue (my sponsored child)'s country. :)


**Note--these pictures are from the Compassion International website. None of these pictures except the one directly below include my sponsored child.*


Many people have questions about why I choose to sponsor. The boldest and most upfront confrontation that I've had yet was when I was walking with a girl from a class I was in. I didn't know her very well at all. While we were talking about something related, I shared about sponsorship, and she gaped at me a bit. "How much do you spend on that?" she asked.


Without thinking, I blurted out the amount. I wasn't trying to be prideful; I was simply answering her question. As soon as it came out, I realized it was the wrong thing to do.


"All that just for some freaking child in Africa?" she said, astounded. It wasn't because she was amazed, but rather, she was nearly disgusted. I was shocked into silence.


While this is certainly the boldest person to ask me questions like these, they aren't unusual questions. Why spend so much money on some child I've never met? Sure, the charity thing makes sense, but why do I choose something so far from home, and spend almost every bit of money I make on it? Why commit to something so large?



Children in Africa are children of God.


I've realized that a lot of people stick with charities closer to home because they're seeable. The kids we see every day talk like us, engage with the culture around them like we do, and maybe even look like us. Therefore, children (or people in general) here where we live are more relatable. We can understand them and their lifestyle. People across the world are foreign to us--most of them don't speak our language or have the same culture as we do.


Don't get me wrong--I'm not saying that people in America (or wherever you may live) don't think that other cultures and peoples are worthy of love or monetary gifts. All that I'm saying is that it's easier and sometimes seemingly more beneficial to stick with local charities.


Engaging with people here at home is a good and worthy cause. But people in need across the globe are no less valuable just because they are not seen or understood by us. I have never stepped foot in the country where Lalengue lives, and it seems almost unreal to me. But I know that it is real, and just as worthy of a cause.


God does not show partiality to one culture over another. He understands all cultures and languages, because he created them. And he loves them all the same.



Commitment helps with consistent giving.


This one is a big one for me. Because of my sponsored child, I am rarely tempted to use my money in a heedless way. I know that it's an automated payment plan, and that I don't make all that much money. Because of this, I have to always think about how much I have to spend. I know that the majority of my money goes towards sponsoring, and therefore I am giving consistently to a worthy cause.


Not everyone has to choose to spend their money in this way, or give this much at all. But because of the way I have chosen to spend my money, I am not as likely to buy things I don't really need. I know that the resources God has given me are being given back to him, teaching Lalengue and giving her the things that she needs.



Fostering relationships is important.


Many of the charities that you could give to are things that you donate to once, not interacting with the actual affects of your giving. Monetary gifts certainly make a difference in whatever cause you choose to give to! But one of the main reasons I chose Compassion International is because I get to have a relationship with the child I sponsor.


To me, there are few things more beautiful than receiving a letter from Lalengue. Although she cannot yet write her own letters (someone transcribes them for her), and although translation from her language to mine is not perfect, it means the same to me when I read that she's praying for me, or when her tiny hand draws me a picture. (It's pretty cute, guys.) And I can imagine that receiving a letter from me is special to her, too.


What's more, I know that we're just starting out. I hope to learn more about this dear girl through each letter, and grow closer across an ocean.



You are changing a child's entire future.


Isn't that an amazing thought? By sponsoring Lalengue, I am not giving generally. I know that my money is going directly to her education, an education that she may not otherwise have.


More than this, she is going weekly to a center that provides her with spiritual as well as physical needs. In an overwhelmingly Muslim-populated place, where even her family may themselves be Muslims, this precious girl gets to learn about Jesus. And that, my friends, is worth every cent that I give. I pray that she will come to know Jesus as her Lord and Savior.



This is why I've chosen to pay for the education of a child I've never met. This is not for everyone; and it's not a call to action. It is simply an explanation for why I have chosen this route, and why I think sponsorship is so valuable.


If you feel so called to, check out Compassion International's website here. I also have an Etsy shop where I earn money to go towards sponsoring Lalengue, and you can find that here.



do you know anyone who sponsors a child? feel free to drop any questions in the comments section below!


Toodeloo, friends!

~Lily May

51 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page