top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLily May

In Which I Share My January Book List

Hello, lovely readers! Yet again I begin by apologizing for skipping a week. But I do have a fun post for you today--featuring four books that I read last month, and what I thought. (: At the bottom, I'll also share some of the books that I'm hoping to read or finish this month.


This year, I'm doing a 52-book reading challenge, and so I'll share which categories (if any) each of these books fell into.


Want to see past book review posts? Click on the "book reviews" tag at the bottom of this post-- I did a few review posts this summer that you can check out!


All photo credits go to goodreads.com.


#1: God's Smuggler by Brother Andrew

not part of the reading challenge

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Andrew didn't grow up dreaming of being a missionary. He dreamed of being in the army and having the time of his life. But God had a different, and even more thrilling, plan for Andrew's life--something he never would have dreamed of doing.


This book was amazing. I'd even go so far as to say that it's one of my favorite missionary biographies to date. I read this with my mom and siblings, and I was excited every time we sat down to read it. (And they all would concur, it was a wonderful read.) Through this book, Andrew tells his story of faith, perseverance, and the endless love and mercy of God. His experience is truly unique, as well- going behind the Iron Curtain to minister to God's people is not something often found in missionary biographies, but something sorely needed. Definitely interesting and captivating!



#2: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

not part of the reading challenge

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Francie Nolan is just an ordinary girl from the slums of Brooklyn. She, her parents, and little brother Neeley don't live an extraordinary or unique life compared to those around them. But Francie has dreams, and fears, and hopes--and she's determined to live them out even though the world tells her that being poor is a life sentence.


This book was incredibly captivating- there were days when I just couldn't put it down!! Unlike most novels, this book isn't about people in unique situations or places in life; the Nolans are just a regular family trying to make do with the little that they have. But Francie's character, along with her charm and spirit, will draw you right into her little world. This book is a lovely reminder that every life matters, no matter how ordinary and insignificant they seem. It also brings life and light to a dark place at a dark time in history. I definitely recommend it!



#3: Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie

a book by agatha christie

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Hercule Poirot, the detective starring in many of Christie's novels, was just hoping for a lovely boat ride to Egypt- but when the rich newlywed Linnet Doyle is murdered, everything goes wrong. Who would want to kill such a loveable girl? The main suspect seems to be innocent...and so, the search begins.


If you go to my final summer reading post, you'll notice that I discovered the charm of Agatha Christie for the first time this past year. Her books are amazing, guys. I think I read this entire mystery novel in two days...and it could have been less, had I wanted. Her characters are not stereotypical mystery novel characters, and each plot twist is exciting and intriguing. I also appreciate the fact that she can pull off a murder novel without many content warnings...I'm a very squeamish person, but Christie's books are almost entirely clean. I had my suspicions about the murderer, but I can't say that I fully guessed it...the endings are always so beautifully played out! I definitely recommend her books.



#4: We Died Before We Came Here by Emily Foreman

a book by an author using a pseudonym

⭐⭐⭐⭐

When Stephen and Emily Foreman (protective pseudonyms) move across the globe to North Africa to become missionaries, everyone thinks they're crazy. With the terrorist attack of 9/11 in the forefront of everyone's minds, they are frequently asked, "Why go minister to such undeserving people?" But they had a calling from their Savior, and were determined to fulfill it, even when it ended up costing Stephen his very life.


This book is a true testimony of what it means to follow Christ, even to the point of death. Stephen's life was not lost--it was found, and his legacy lives on in this book. Just because there is evil in the world does not mean that the hope of Christ should not and cannot be shared. There is risk, and there is danger, but our very Savior lost his life to redeem us--so why do we hold back from going "to the ends of the earth"? This book is an easy read, and a beautiful reminder for any Christian, missionary or not.



Well, I guess I had a good month of books...all 4- and 5-star reviews. Definitely nice for a change! :)


Upcoming books:

Everything Sad is Untrue by Daniel Nayeri

The God of the Garden by Andrew Peterson

Habits of Grace by David Mathis



which of these books have you read? did you agree with the reviews? what have you been reading recently?


Toodeloo, friends!

~Lily May



83 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page